Mod Baby

15 Apr

Spring has been unusually coquettish this year. Typically, the daffodils bloom in late February, followed by the dogwoods, and then the azeleas. By the end of March, spring flowers are belting out their final notes and in April we pull out our swimsuits and kayaks live outside until October.

But this spring has tiptoed in so daintily that it almost went unnoticed before it darted away again and we were back in our heavy raincoats. It has finally, slowly, washed over the state and brought with it a tide of glorious multicolored blooms.

It has also brought a persistent case of spring fever, which I’ve only been able to treat with a lot of gardening and intermittent quilting. I should note that, in my case, gardening has mostly been about pulling things out of the ground rather than planting things in it. So while our house was previously hidden behind some unruly, mismatched bushes, it is now free and bright and open. You can see the daffodils, lilies, and irises that were hidden under the shrubbery that had accumulated sometime in the house’s 70 year past. However, you can also see the house, which is a bit shabby chic. Emphasis on the shabby. But it’s well-loved.

Since the Summer of Babies is close at hand, my social calendar is brimming over with shower invitations. The first one just happened, I made a little Mod Century quilt for a baby boy. It was so fun to make, and I loved every bit of the fabric.

mod-quilt-long

After I started to add the binding, I second-guessed my selection of red, wondering if turquoise or grey might have been better suited to the collection of fabric. When it was finished, I decided that I really liked it. With every quilt, my goal is to try something new, and for this one, I stitched his name on the back. That way, I had to resist the temptation to keep it. (Kidding!)

mod-quilt-back

I'd love to hear from you! Leave a comment.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Sigh For Love

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Art Gallery Fabrics - The Creative Blog

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Kitchen Table Quilting

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Bari J.

chez: from the Latin "casa"

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

Karefully Made

Life. Love. Quilts.

Thompson Family-Life

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Whipstitch

chez: from the Latin "casa"

