December Eve

27 Dec

It was a very quilty Christmas here at Chez Casa. I worked on this quilt for my cousin for quite some time, because I kept measuring things incorrectly and ending up with too little fabric. I’m very much a “measure twice, cut once” kind of gal, but I still couldn’t get it right. Nonetheless, this one is definitely my favorite quilt so far.

quilt3

When it was done, my husband (nicknamed Grr), asked if it was going to be hard to give away. He knew it I’d been a lot more technical in planning it, from the incorporation of sashing and borders, to the use of a separate binding (yay!). It was also the one where he inadvertantly started renaming the parts of the quilt, from the “buntering” (batting) to the “crumping” (binding). Despite all of these special (and silly) moments, I’d had my cousin in mind for the entire process, and in my mind, it never belonged to anyone but her.quilt_back

quilt3_closeupAfter it was all done, I was especially proud of my most adventurous quilting yet. Still just straight lines, but this time it actually mattered that they’re straight. (Ha!)

I'd love to hear from you! Leave a comment.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Sigh For Love

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Art Gallery Fabrics - The Creative Blog

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Kitchen Table Quilting

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Bari J.

chez: from the Latin "casa"

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

Karefully Made

Life. Love. Quilts.

My Blog

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Whipstitch

chez: from the Latin "casa"

