A Forest of Fabric

26 Nov

A friend made my week yesterday when she asked how much I would charge to make her a quilt. I know just how much I don’t know about making quilts, and my craftsmanship leaves a lot to be desired, but I was honored nonetheless. Since she has taken up painting in the last year, I thought a trade might be a great way to share our new-found art skills with one another. Much of her artwork is beautifully themed on trees, so that is the theme of our swap. I’ve been scouring the web for fabric featuring trees and thought I’d share the early results. Each of these fabrics are fairly different in style, and some are more literal than others, but I’m still very open in the style of this woodland woven quilt, so who knows what the end result will be!

Woodland Wovens

1. Florine in Brass from Echo by Lotta Jansdotter (Photo from A Content Life)

2. Snow White in Yellow from Far, Far Away III by Heather Ross (Photo from Mountain of the Dragon)

3. Sparrows in Plum from Aviary 2  by Joel Dewberry (Photo by Silver Spoon Baby Co.)

4. Farmstead in Petal from Madrona Road by Michael Miller (Photo by Fat Quarter Shop)

5. Whispering Trees in Poppy from Bella by Lotta Jansdotter (Photo by Quiltvine)

6. Windy Day in Aqua from Back Yard Baby by Michael Miller (Photo by Allegro Fabrics)

I'd love to hear from you! Leave a comment.

MidwifeThinking

Dr Rachel Reed

Sigh For Love

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Art Gallery Fabrics - The Creative Blog

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Kitchen Table Quilting

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Bari J.

chez: from the Latin "casa"

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

Karefully Made

Life. Love. Quilts.

My Blog

chez: from the Latin "casa"

Whipstitch

chez: from the Latin "casa"

